Buma Toonzetters Prijs 2012

Composer Andys Skordis wins Buma Toonzetters Prijs 2012

The Buma Toonzetters Prijs 2012 goes to Andys Skordis (1983) for his work The deeper you go...the deeper you go...the deeper you go...deeper you go...you go...you?
On Saturday night 23 June the Dutch based and Cyprus born composer received the prize of € 10.000 from Buma Cultuur director Frank Helmink. The international professional jury, chaired by Lucas Vis, considered the work to be the best Dutch composition of the past season. The award ceremony took place during the fifth edition of the Toonzetters festival at the Amsterdam Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ.

The jury, consisting of Lars Petter Hagen (Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival, Norway), Andrew Kurowski (BBC, United Kingdom), Tadeusz Wielecki (Warsaw Autumn, Poland) and Lucas Vis (conductor, chairman, the Netherlands) was once again surprised by the great number of remarkable compositions. The jury picked ten compositions from nearly one hundred entries written by a great number of new names. These ten compositions all deserve to be heard more often; they should be on the repertoire of many ensembles and orchestras. Picking them from nearly one hundred works is no sinecure, but the jury was unanimous about Andys Skordys’s composition.  

Some quotes from the jury report:

The deeper you go...the deeper you go...the deeper you go...deeper you go...you go...you? was premiered on 11 June 2011 at the Composers’ Festival 2011 in Amsterdam. At the Toonzetters festival the piece was performed by members of the Residentie Orchestra and VOCAALLAB.

Sena Performers Toonzetters Prijs
At the same event the Zapp 4 string quartet received the Sena Performers Toonzetters Prijs worth € 10.000. Earlier this week this ensemble was awarded this prize for the performer(s) of the best program of the previous season, according to a professional jury of Dutch programmers.

Selection Toonzetters 2012

Toonzetters is a leading event for the composer and performer in contemporary music. During Toonzetters the best new Dutch composed works from the previous year can be heard. The aim of Toonzetters is to show the public the talent and rich variety in Dutch contemporary music.

Selection Toonzetters 2012:
Michel van der Aa - Up-close
Richard Ayres - no.46
Silvia Borzelli - Own Pace (Amnesia 3)
Guus Janssen - Vrije Tijd
Noriko Koide - Tamamushi Nostalgia
Yannis Kyriakides - The Trojan Light
Arnold Marinissen - Von Pferden, Gräsern, Sonnen, Menschen
Yu Oda - The Scheme of the Sea Organ
Matijs de Roo - Im grossen schweigen
Andys Skordis - "The deeper you go...the deeper you go...the deeper you go...deeper you go...you go...you?"

The jury of Toonzetters 2012 consists of:
Lars Petter Hagen (Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival, Noorway)
Andrew Kurowski (BBC, United Kingdom)
Tadeusz Wielecki (Warsaw Autumn, Poland)
Lucas Vis (conductor, jury chairman, the Netherlands)


Live on Dutch radio

Tuesday June 22 was the final concert and awards ceremony of Toonzetters 2011 live broadcasted by Dutch national radio station NTR Radio 4. Click here to listen to the broadcast again.

Organized by

Toonzetters is organized by Buma Cultuur and Music Center the Netherlands, supported by Sena Performers and Performing Arts Fund NL, in cooperation with Holland Festival.

Buma Cultuur

   Muziek Centrum Nederland
Holland Festival SENA


Fonds Podium Kunsten